Everything You Need To Know About The Cityline Book Club

Choose your next read from our list of multi-genre books you won't be able to put down.

 

The Cityline Book Club is back and we want every one of you to get in on the literary fun! Four steps to maximize your book club membership:

1. Pick up the selected title—We’ll announce the month’s selection at the beginning of the round.
2. Follow along with Tracy Click here to join and read along with Tracy on Instagram! Check the Book Club highlight often for her hot takes, video reviews, and interactive content.
3. Use the hashtags—Hashtag #CitylineLit and #ReadMoore (plus mention Cityline) on your book club tweets, photos, and videos. This allows us to easily react to and share your posts.
4. Tune in to our interview with the author—At the end of the novel, we’ll share an exclusive interview with Tracy and the author on this page and on our YouTube Channel.

February’s Cityline Book Club pick is ‘We Rip the World Apart: A Novel’ by Charlene Carr.

Purchase the book here.

A sweeping multi-generational story about motherhood, race and secrets in the lives of three women, perfect for readers of Brit Bennett’s The Vanishing Half and David Chariandy’s Brother.

“When 24-year-old Kareela discovers she’s pregnant with a child she isn’t sure she wants, it amplifies her struggle to understand her place in the world as a woman who is half-Black and half-white, yet feels neither.

Her mother, Evelyn, fled to Canada with her husband and their first-born child, Antony, during the politically charged Jamaican Exodus of the 1980s, only to realize they’d come to a place where Black men are viewed with suspicion—a constant and pernicious reality Evelyn watches her husband and son navigate daily.

Years later, in the aftermath of Antony’s murder by the police, Evelyn’s mother-in-law, Violet, moves in, offering young Kareela a link to the Jamaican heritage she has never fully known. Despite Violet’s efforts to help them through their grief, the traumas they carry grow into a web of secrets that threatens the very family they all hold so dear.

Back in the present, Kareela, prompted by fear and uncertainty about the new life she carries, must come to terms with the mysteries surrounding her family’s past and the need to make sense of both her identity and her future.”

Watch Tracy’s interview with February’s author Charlene Carr:

Watch Tracy’s interview with November’s author Katherena Vermette:

 

Watch Tracy’s interview with October’s author Zalika Reid-Benta:

 

Watch Tracy’s interview with September’s author Ashley Audrain:

 

Scroll through the gallery below for quick purchases and the complete list of our current and previous book club reads! 

Meet Me at the Lake by Carley Fortune

 

Be sure to follow Cityline on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook for more book club content! PLUS, for tons of fun exclusives, join our Facebook group

 

TAGS: